Deferred Compensation Advisory Commission

2024 Scheduled Meetings

2.88.010 Established—Statutory authority.

The County Deferred Compensation Advisory Commission is established under the authority of California Government Code Section 53212, et seq., the United States Tax Reform Act of 1978, Section 457, and Santa Cruz County Deferred Compensation Plan, Section 6. [Ord. 4207 § 1, 1992; Ord. 2732, 1979; prior code § 3.63.010].

2.88.020 Membership.

The Commission shall consist of eight members appointed by the Board of Supervisors. One member shall be nominated by each of the following officials and organizations: the County Administrative Officer, the County Counsel, the Personnel Director, the Santa Cruz County Middle Management Association, the Service Employees International Union, and the Deputy Sheriff’s Association. Two members shall be nominated by the Auditor-Controller-Treasurer-Tax-Collector, one of whom shall be the employee of that office responsible for directing County investment activities. [Ord. 5282 § 1, 2018; Ord. 4015 § 1, 1989; Ord. 2732, 1979; prior code § 3.63.040].

2.88.030 Bylaws.

The Deferred Compensation Commission shall adopt bylaws for the conduct of its business, subject to approval by the Board of Supervisors. [Ord. 2732, 1979; prior code § 3.63.030].

2.88.040 Powers and duties.

The Commission shall be responsible for the operation of the County deferred compensation plan, according to its terms and conditions and applicable regulations and provisions of the County and of the United States. The Commission may also formulate proposed amendments to the deferred compensation plan to be forwarded to the Board of Supervisors for final adoption. The Deferred Compensation Advisory Commission shall select various funding options available under the County deferred compensation plan. [Ord. 2732, 1979; prior code § 3.63.020].