County of Santa Cruz

INVITES YOU TO APPLY FOR:



DEPUTY SHERIFF TRAINEE

Bilingual (English/Spanish) Candidates Encouraged to Apply

Supplemental Questionnaire Required

Open and Promotional Job # -24-RE3-KK

Salary: \$7,765 - 10,934 / Month

*Hiring Incentive: \$15,000 Bonus upon completion of the Sheriff's Office Field Training Program and completion of the probationary period at the Deputy Sheriff level, which is one year (2080 county service hours)¹

Closing Date: Friday, December 6, 2024

County Equity Statement

Equity in action in Santa Cruz County is a transformative process that embraces individuals of every status, providing unwavering support, dignity, and compassion. Through this commitment, the County ensures intentional opportunities and access, fostering an

environment where everyone can thrive and belong.

Applicants who meet minimum qualifications and possess a valid T-Score of 46 or higher (issued within one year) -OR- completed the National Testing Network (NTN) Frontline Law Enforcement Written Examination within one year (Passing scores accepted for this exam are Video-65% or higher; Reading-70% or higher; and Writing-70% or higher) will move to next step.

WE ACCEPT T-SCORES FROM OTHER AGENCIES

Please direct questions regarding incentives to Sgt. Jacob Pruger at (831) 454-7680.

THE JOB: Deputy Sheriff Trainee is a non-sworn trainee level classification in the Sheriff's Office with no peace officer powers. Incumbents in this class attend an approved Peace Officers Standards and Training (POST) police academy to be trained to perform law enforcement service. Upon successful completion of the basic academy, incumbents are expected to promote to Deputy Sheriff. Deputy Sheriffs perform law enforcement, crime prevention and crime detection activities; serve civil papers; coroner functions; act as bailiff and



perform other duties as required. Incumbents rotate through various assignments and work rotating shift schedules, including nights, weekends and holidays.

THE REQUIREMENTS: Graduation from a high school by an association recognized by the US Department of Education, a satisfactory score on a GED test or a California High School Proficiency Examination certificate. A two or four-year college degree accredited by an association recognized by the US Department of Education may be substituted for the high school requirements; the ability to pass a full background investigation, medical examination (including lifting assessment) and psychological examination. Possession of a valid Class C California Driver License at time of appointment. Must be legally authorized to work in the United States in accordance with Section 1031 of the Government Code; be at least **21 years** of age at completion of academy; be available to work nights, weekends, and/or holidays.

Special Working Conditions: Exposure to variable temperatures and weather conditions; confined workspaces; heights; two-way radio noise; strong, unpleasant odors; infections which might cause chronic disease or death; dust and pollens; chemical irritants; possibility of experiencing bodily injury and/or burns; contact with a diverse population.

Knowledge: Some knowledge of human motivation and behavior; and the functions of a local law enforcement agency.

Ability to: Understand, interpret and apply State and local laws and departmental policies and procedures; react quickly and calmly in emergency situations and adopt an effective course of action; follow oral and written instructions; learn to operate firearms safely and skillfully; obtain information through interview, interrogation and observation; write clear and accurate reports; establish and maintain effective relationships; successfully complete an approved Peace Officers Standards and Training (POST) basic police academy. Normal color vision and unrestricted peripheral vision. If no corrective lenses worn, vision of at least 20/20. If glasses are worn, uncorrected vision of at least 20/100, correcting to 20/20. If soft contact lenses are worn, vision of at least 20/200, correcting to 20/20, with one year minimum of successful contact lens use. Candidates who have had corrective eye surgery must meet all applicable vision guidelines at all times of the day. A minimum of one year must have elapsed between surgery and examination, and all post-operative records must be submitted for review.

THE EXAMINATION: Applicants who meet minimum qualifications and possess a valid T-Score of 46 or higher (issued within one year) -OR- completed the National Testing Network (NTN) Frontline Law Enforcement Written Examination within one year (Passing scores accepted for this exam are Video-65% or higher; Reading-70% or higher; and Writing-70% or higher) will be invited to participate in a physical ability test.

Physical Ability Test: Part 1: Run 220 yards in 1 minute or less; **Part 2**: Drag 165-pound dummy 60 feet in 1 minute or less. Applicants will be allowed two one-minute attempts to pass each part of the physical ability test. **MUST PASS ALL** components of the examination to be placed on the eligible list.

Background Investigation: An extensive background investigation including a polygraph examination, drug screen, and Personal History Statement which includes work, legal, driving, financial and drug possession histories will be conducted.

Failure of the background investigation will include but is not limited to one of the following:

- 1. Unlawful use or possession of any unlawful drug within three years of application for employment.
- 2. Unlawful sales, distribution, manufacture, transportation of an unlawful drug.
- 3. Use of any unlawful drug during work hours while employed in a job related to public safety or security.
- 4. Termination from employment or discharge from the military because of a drug test.
- 5. Conviction or commission of a felony.
- 6. Conviction or commission of a misdemeanor within the last three years involving conduct that would adversely impact the candidate's ability to perform as a law enforcement officer.
- 7. The conviction or specified misdemeanor within the last ten years per California Penal Code 29805(c).
- 8. Classification as a negligent operator under the Department of Motor Vehicles:
 - a. Four or more points in twelve (12) months.
 - b. Six points in twenty-four (24) months.
 - c. Eight points in thirty-six (36) months.
- 9. A peace officer applicant who is the subject of a protective order or a temporary restraining order related to domestic violence or stalking (California Penal Code section 12021(g)(1) and US Code, Title 18, part 1, Chapter 44, Section 922).
- 10. Conviction of a misdemeanor containing the elements of domestic violence (US Code, Title 18, Part 1, Chapter 44, Section 922(d)(9)).
- 11. Discharge from the armed services of the United States of America under dishonorable conditions (US Code, Title 18, Part 1, Chapter 44, Section 911(d)(6)).
- 12. Termination from a sworn position at a law enforcement agency.
- 13. Termination from any employment in the past three years for reasons that would adversely impact the candidate's ability to perform as a law enforcement officer.
- 14. Any incorrect representation, verbal misrepresentation or deletion of a material fact on an application, interview or background investigation.

Any exceptions to the above may be considered on a case-by-case basis.

HOW TO APPLY: Apply online at www.santacruzcountyjobs.com or mail/bring an application and supplemental questionnaire to: Santa Cruz County Personnel Department, 701 Ocean Street, Room 510, Santa Cruz, CA 95060. For information, call (831) 454-2600. Hearing Impaired TDD/TTY: 711. Applications will meet the final filing date if received: 1) in the Personnel Department by 5:00 p.m. on the final filing date, 2) submitted online before midnight of the final filing date.

Women, people of color and people with disabilities are encouraged to apply. If you have a disability that requires test accommodation, please call (831) 454-2600.

To comply with the 1986 Immigration Reform and Control Act, Santa Cruz County verifies that all new employees are either U.S. citizens or persons authorized to work in the U.S.

Some positions may be designated for bilingual pay (Spanish speaking). Candidates may qualify for bilingual pay by successfully completing a pass/fail language proficiency examination.

DEPUTY SHERIFF TRAINEE - SUPPLEMENTAL QUESTIONNAIRE
The supplemental question is designed specifically for this recruitment. Applications received without the required supplemental information will be screened out of the selection process.
Applications must include proof of a valid and recent (issued within one year) California Police Officer Standards and Training (POST) T-score -OR- completed the National Testing Network (NTN) Frontline Law Enforcement Written Examination within one year (Passing scores accepted for this exam are Video-65% or higher; Reading-70% or higher; and Writing-70% or higher) in order to move to next step. The T-score results must be on an agency letterhead where the test was administered, test date and test results. NTN results can be verified by county.
1. Do you possess a valid T-Score of 46 or higher?
Yes
To submit proof of your T-score you may 1) email a copy to: <u>Personnel@santacruzcountyca.gov</u> or 2) fax it to (831) 454-2240 or mail or bring a copy to County of Santa Cruz Personnel Department 701 Ocean Street, Room 510, Santa Cruz, CA 95060.
No
2. Do you complete and pass the National Testing Network (NTN) Frontline Law Enforcement Written Examination within one year (Passing scores accepted for this exam are Video-65% or higher; Reading-70% or higher; and Writing-70% or higher)?
Yes
No
If we are unable to verify completion of NTN examination, we will request verification.
To obtain information on testing dates, times and locations regarding the POST written examination go to the South Bay Regional Public Safety Training website at <u>http://theacademy.ca.gov/tests</u> .
To obtain information on testing dates, times and locations regarding the NTN written examination go to the National Testing Network website at <u>https://www.nationaltestingnetwork.com/</u> .

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS:

VACATION – Employees on 5/8 schedule accrue at 112 hours per year, rising to 232 hours per year after 15 years service. Employees on 4/10 schedule accrue at 86 hours per year, rising to 214 hours per year. Employee on 7/12 schedule shall be credited with 80 hours of vacation upon completion of 2080 hours. Vacation is available after 2080 hours of service.

HOLIDAYS – Employees on 5/8 schedule receive 13 paid Holidays per year. Employees on 4/10 schedule shall receive one 10-hour day off per month in lieu of prescribed holidays. Employees on 7/12 schedule shall accrue .0659 hours per hour worked in lieu of holiday.

BEREAVEMENT LEAVE - 3 days paid in California, 5 days paid out of state.

SICK LEAVE - 96 hours per year.

MEDICAL PLAN – The County contracts with CalPERS for a variety of medical plans. For most plans County contributions pay a majority of the premiums for employees and eligible dependents.

VISION PLAN – The County pays for employee coverage. Employees may purchase eligible dependent coverage.

DENTAL PLAN – County paid employee and dependent coverage.

RETIREMENT – 1959 Survivor's Benefit plus pension formula 3% at age 55 or 2.7% at age 57 as determined based on provisions of the CA Public Employees' Pension Reform Act of 2013 (PEPRA). Pension benefit determined by final average compensation of three years. County pays a portion of retirement contribution. LIFE INSURANCE – County paid \$50,000 policy. Employee may purchase additional life insurance.

LONG TERM DISABILITY PLAN – Employee paid voluntary plan. Plan pays 66 2/3% of the first \$15,000 of predisability earnings up to \$10,000 per month maximum.

DEPENDENT-CARE PLAN – Employees who pay for qualifying child or dependent care expenses may elect this pre-tax program.

H-CARE PLAN – Employees who pay a County medical premium share of cost may elect this pre-tax program.

HEALTH CARE FLEXIBLE SPENDING ALLOWANCE (HCFSA) – Employees may elect this pre-tax program to cover qualifying health care expenses.

DEFERRED COMPENSATION – A deferred compensation plan is available to employees.

OTHER – County pays premium for certain requirements and assignments, including: Night Shift Pay: 5% of base pay; POST Intermediate Certificate: 3.5% of base pay; POST Advanced Certificate: 5.5% of base pay; Detective Pay: equal to 5% of base hourly rate of Deputy Sheriff; Field Training Officer Pay, 5% of base pay; Bilingual Pay: \$1.00/hour for LEVEL I, \$2.00/hour for LEVEL II.

ASSIGNMENTS - Opportunities for rotation to every bureau of the department.

Hiring Incentive of \$15,000 upon completion of the Sheriff's Office Field Training Program and completion of the probationary period at the Deputy Sheriff level, which is one year (2080 county service hours). Employees who separate prior to the completion of three years (6,240 county service hours) must reimburse the total amount of the incentive pay received.

Note: Provisions of this bulletin do not constitute an expressed or implied contract.

County of Santa Cruz

www.santacruzcountyjobs.com

LIVE Here WORK Here PLAY Here